To:

Presidency of the Council of the European Union President of the European Council, Charles Michel President of the European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen President of the European Parliament, Roberta Metsola

Cc:

Secretary-General of the United Nations, António Guterres

Brussels, February 21th 2024

The United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees [UNRWA] plays an irreplaceable role in providing daily survival of critical aid to 2.2 million civilians in Gaza, who are facing an unspeakable threat to their lives and most basic rights, with already more than one hundred thousand of dead, injured and missing, most of them children and women.

Following the decision of some donor countries to suspend their funding to UNRWA, the Secretary-General of the United Nations, António Guterres, underlined – 31th January 2024 – "the importance of keeping UNRWA's vital work going to meet the dire needs of civilians in Gaza" and appealed "to all Member States to guarantee the continuity of UNRWA's life-saving work", while recalling for a "sustained humanitarian access throughout Gaza" and "for an immediate humanitarian ceasefire".

We, the undersigned Members of the European Parliament, urge you to engage with this efforts and commitment with the United Nations resolutions and conventions for the Human Rights and for the rights of the Palestinian people, granting UNRWA's support with the proper funding to continue and to improve its humanitarian life-saving work.

The Members of the European Parliament,

João Pimenta Lopes

Sandra Pereira

Rosa D'AMATO

Irena JOVEVA

Ana MIRANDA

Milan BRGLEZ

Chris MACMANUS

Mick WALLACE

Esther SANZ SELVA

Manu PINEDA

Alviina ALAMETSÄ

Pietro BARTOLO

Pedro SILVA PEREIRA

Brando BENIFEI

Billy KELLEHER

Tineke STRIK

Kim VAN SPARRENTAK

Clare DALY

Izaskun BILBAO BARANDICA

Martin BUSCHMANN

Francisco GUERREIRO

Idoia VILLANUEVA RUIZ

Maria ARENA

Alfred SANT

Mounir SATOURI

Damien CAREME

Piernicola PEDICINI

Matjaz NEMEC

Pierre LARROUTUROU

Miguel URBÁN CRESPO

Isabel SANTOS

Eugenia RODRÍGUEZ PALOP

Massimiliano SMERIGLIO

Giuliano PISAPIA

Marisa MATIAS

José GUSMÃO

Nikolaj VILLUMSEN